16.—Lieutenant-Governors of Quebec, 1867-1949, Legislatures and Premiers, 1934-49, and Present Ministry as at Aug. 1, 1949—concluded Twentleth Ministry

(Party standing at latest General Election, July 28, 1948: 82 Union Nationale, 8 Liberals and 2 Independents.)

| Offiœ | Name | Date of Present Appointment |
|---|---|---|
| Premier, Attorney General and President of Executive Council. Provincial Treasurer. Minister of Lands and Forests. Minister of Health. Minister of Health. Minister of Roads. Minister of Colonization. Minister of Colonization. Minister of Came and Fisheries. Minister of Calbour. Minister of Calbour. Minister of Calbour. Minister of Agriculture. Provincial Secretary. Minister of Social Welfare and of Youth. Minister without portfolio. Minister without portfolio. Minister without portfolio. Minister without portfolio. Minister without portfolio. Minister without portfolio. | HON. J. A. PAQUETTE. HON. BONA DUBSAULT. HON. ANTONIO TALBOT. HON. ROMED LOBRAIN. HON. C. DANTEL FRENCH. HON. JOS. D. BEGIN. HON. JOS. D. BEGIN. HON. ANTONIO BARRETTE. HON. PAUL BAULIEU. HON. PAUL BAULIEU. HON. DAURENT BARRÉ. HON. OMER COTÉ. HON. ANTONIO ELIE. HON. TANCRÈDE LABBÉ. HON. MARC TRUDEL. HON. PATRICE TARDIF. HON. PATRICE TARDIF. | Aug. 30, 1944 Aug. 30, 1944 |

Subsection 6.-Ontario

The Executive Council of Ontario consists of: the Premier, President of the Council and Provincial Treasurer; Minister of Agriculture; Minister of Mines; Attorney General and Minister of Education; Minister of Highways and Minister of Public Works; Minister of Municipal Affairs; Minister of Reform Institutions; Minister of Labour; Provincial Secretary and Registrar; Minister of Health; Minister of Planning and Development; Minister of Public Welfare; Minister of Lands and Forests; Minister of Travel and Publicity; and one Minister without portfolio.

The House of Assembly, the single-chamber Legislature of the Province, is composed of 90 members elected for five years on an adult suffrage basis.

Besides the regular departments the Niagara Parks Commission, the Ontario Municipal Board, the Hydro-Electric Power Commission of Ontario and the Ontario Northland Transportation Commission have been created.

Under the provisions of the Legislative Assembly Amendment Act, 1947 (11 Geo. VI, c. 55), each Member of the Assembly is paid an annual indemnity of \$2,000 and an allowance for expenses of \$1,000. The Speaker receives an additional indemnity at the annual rate of \$2,500; the Chairman of the Committee of the Whole an indemnity at the annual rate of \$1,000 and the Leader of the Opposition an additional indemnity of \$3,000 and an annual allowance for expenses of \$2,000. These special indemnities and allowances for the Speaker, Chairman of the Committee of the Whole and Leader of the Opposition are in addition to their indemnities and expense allowances as Members of the Legislature.

Members of the Cabinet receive the ordinary indemnity as Members of the Legislature of \$2,000 plus the \$1,000 expense allowance in addition to their salaries as Members of the Crown. The salary provided for Cabinet Ministers in the